Frequently Asked Questions about parent accounts:
Q: My student has a free bulb account. How can I connect to them?
In order to connect to a parent account, the student must be on a paid account (either bulb+ or bulbEd) to get access to a student code for a parent to utilize. If your student is on a free account, they will need to upgrade to bulb+ for you to connect to them. Upgrade here.
Q: How much does a parent account cost?
Parent account is free with a paid student account (bulb+ or bulbEd). The parent view provides easy viewing of student work and notifications of student activity. The parent account also comes with free personal portfolio that allows parents to share up to 10 pages with 2 GB of storage. Parents can upgrade their personal portfolio to bulb+ for an $8 monthly subscription which provides unlimited shared pages and storage.
Q: Can I access my parent account through the mobile iOS App?
If you are accessing your parent account through the mobile iOS app, you will be redirected to view bulb through mobile safari as bulb currently does not support parent account through the iOS app.
Q: Is there a limit on the number of family members a student can have connected to their account?
No, there is no limit on the number of family accounts that can be connected to a students account.
Q: Is there a limit on the number of students a family member can have connected to their account?
No, there is not a limit on the number of students a family member can have connected to their account.
Q: Where can I find my student's code to create my parent account?
The student code is found in the student's bulb account under settings.
You will be notified when:
- Your student is connected/disconnected from your account
- Your student creates a new page
- Your student creates a new collection
- Your student shares content
- Your student disconnects your parent account from their account.
Q: Who can add my student to their bulb account as a family member?
Family members who have the student code and the students username can add this student as a member of their parent account. All connected family members are notified by email when a new connection is made for safety reasons.
Q: How can I remove a family member from my students account?
To remove a family member from a student's account, the student has to be logged into their account, go to their account settings and under the family member section members can be deleted.
Q: How can I add my student to my existing bulb account?
You can add students to your existing bulb account by going into your settings and navigating to the "Parent View" section. Here you can activate your account as a parent account and then add your student. You will need your student's username and student code, which can be found in their settings. If you are an educator and you want to add the parent access, activating the parent view will not impact the functionality of using bulb as an educator.
Q: How do I know this is secure and that no stranger can connect to my student’s account?
bulb requires two pieces of identification 1) bulb username and 2) unique code. The student's username and student code must all match exactly to link a parent account to a student account. You can also review who is connected to your student's portfolio by visiting their settings menu.
Q: Why can’t I see my student anymore?
Your student has the ability to remove you from their account as a connected adult. You will receive a notification in your Student Activity informing you that your student has disconnected you from their account. To view them again, you will need to re-add them with their “Add Child” credentials through your settings.
Q: What content will I be able to see on my student's portfolio?
You will be able to see all shared content on your student's portfolio.
Q: Who can see my comments that I leave on my student's page?
Parent commenting will be visible to anyone who can see that page- meaning anyone that your student has shared his/her page to.
Q: How can I return to my personal portfolio from my student activity feed?
You can return to your personal portfolio by toggling between the MY PORTFOLIO view next to your STUDENT ACTIVITY view on your home profile page.
Q: What happens if you students account is downgraded to a free account after they graduate from school and no longer have bulbEd?
You will still remain connected to your students account and can still view all of their shared work. Your student will now be on a free account that has a 10 subsequent page sharing limit but they will still have all of their work on their account. If your student disconnects you from their account after they have been downgraded to a free account, you will no longer be able to add them to you parent account unless their account is upgraded to either bulbEd or bulb+.
*If you need further assistance, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org
Please sign in to leave a comment.